Fake News

If you are reading this it’s because I most likely click bated you by using Donald Trumps famous sound bite for describing how he feels about most of our national media outlets. For once I am on the same page as President Trump. Please don’t mistake this as me finally supporting him, but along the lines of even a broken clock is right twice a day.

In an effort to cut back on the daily negativity I have drastically cut back my amount of news consumption over the years. I try and limit myself to one helping of the daily news broadcast and maybe a couple of other news articles throughout the day. Unfortunately, I can’t live under a rock because being completely ignorant of my local, national, and world goings on doesn’t jive well with my scouting background. I figure if I can keep to the amount of “bad” news I am exposed to limited to that which I am legally obligated or feel ethically compelled to deal with then all the better.

Another reason I look to minimize the amount of daily news intake is because I don’t have the time to fact check everything. All to often reporters are in a race to get their story pushed out to the masses without having their story straight. Can’t  tell you how many times I read or watch something from some news outlet only to found out sometimes hours later that they were only kind of right or completely off target. I equate this to one of my students rushing to get their paper turned into me first so they can get the special prize I may be offering, but forgets that the work also needs to be correct as well.

Let me put a button on this. More often than not I am turning to YouTube channels to get most of my national and global news any more and then I follow it up with the national “main stream” media sources. I do view this as more of a sign of the changing times, but there is also a healthy dose of not being able to trust the main stream sources as well.

Leave a Reply

