Voice Mail Greetings

Among the dozens of things that I have started noticing throughout my day especially when making one of the many phone calls that we do in the pharmacy is peoples voice mail greetings. Now I’m not talking about the automated system that tells you what to do and sometimes even that is just too much information, but the personal greeting that people leave.

When I call someone whether it be for personal or professional reasons and I get said persons voice mail I only want to hear two things, you repeating the number that I dialed if your carriers automated system doesn’t do it for you and your name. That’s it. Nothing more, nothing less. Anything beyond that is a waste of time.

To the people letting their children leave the greeting message stop it. Unless I personally know you I now have no idea if called the right number. Most of the time I can’t understand what your child is saying anyway.

The people who start talking like you’re actually there answering the phone and then punk me 7 seconds later, there’s a special place in hell reserved for you.

The biggest “no no” in terms of voice mail greetings is explaining to me why I shouldn’t leave a message because you don’t check and/or I should just hang up and text. For starters I now think less of you as a person and secondly if your receiving a call from lets say a professional contact how long do you think you’ll keep that contact. Also, there’s the assumption that I am calling from a phone capable of texting. So much for communicating to you the important information we have.

I could continue to site examples, but I think I’ve made my point with those three. I believe the acronym K.I.S.S. applies here. (Keep It Simple Stupid) Please refer to the two pieces of information I require from the beginning and we’ll all get along just fine.

Leave a Reply

