Motivation

A variety of things motivate me to get things done. At current my inability to fall asleep is motivation to type this BLOG and work on a few other things on the interwebz so that I can hopefully fatigue myself into sleep,  but also have some prep work done for myself so that when I rise in the morning whether it be at my usual waking time or later due to the prolonged departure into dreamland I will either be ahead of the game or on schedule.

Let’s examine something else that helps me stay motivated in the face of irksome tasks and weighty responsibilities. There was a mantra that I learned a few years back the helps keep motivated. “If not you, then who? If not now, then when?” It’s mostly a self application thing for when it comes to work and personal things when I’m feeling unmotivated. In terms of work it comes down to I need to get said objective completed so that:

  1. I am not passing the buck on to someone else. I loath when someone does it to me so I am not going to do it to them.
  2. I am not screwing myself. When at the pharmacy sometimes I am all there is to get the task done so I’m either dumping more work on myself for the next day or later in the day. In terms of teaching it turns into me figuring out how to cram something in again either the next day or later that day and then potentially making some other part of my lesson plan suffer as a result.
  3. In the rare instance where I do have to pass the buck onto someone else my request to complete the task I couldn’t is not meet with chagrin, but instead with an acceptance. The person picking up the ball and running with it for me knows that all best efforts were made not have the shit kicked down hill to them, but are going to get it done anyway.

When it comes to getting my personal chores and other miscellaneous tasks completed I base things around a personal rewards system. I will set rewards out for myself in both the short and the long term. That way I am rewarding myself often enough that I’m not getting a gold star for every little thing, bur also so that I don’t have to ask myself why I’m putting such a prolonged delay on gratification.

These are just a few of my thoughts on how to stay motivated and are pretty much adaptable to most work and life situations. If my thoughts on the subject aren’t helpful then here’s FULL METAL JACKET’S Gunnery Sergent Hartman to help motivate.

Leave a Reply

