I Don’t Like Change

Much like every other human being I am a creature of habit. Although I can easily adapt to a change in my daily routine every once in a while a deviation from the normal path keeps me lost in the woods for a bit. Today was one of those days.

When working in the pharmacy we have a lot of standard operating procedures (SOP’s) to help govern what we do, but to also keep us on a good work flow pace. Occasionally a wrench gets thrown into that, but we can normally adapt to that. Today however, I had to participate in a conference call in the middle of my shift in order to prepare for a project that I am attached to. When I finished with it I tried to return to my normal operations, but found myself kind of walking around with the constant feeling that I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to do.

In all reality I pretty much have most days planned out start to finish of what I am going to do. Just makes my life easier. Normally I just use my mental punch list of things that need to be done, but occasionally I will make a more complex list for myself just so I don’t get distracted and keep on grinding. At the same time though I also keep time built into my day to allow for the unexpected deviations that may occur. I also find it helpful to place assign a priority level to the days tasks just incase I find that I need to shelf or way lay something due to time needed to be dedicated to other tasks or again the unexpected getting in the way.

To illustrate my point here’s Stewie from Family Guy.

Leave a Reply

