The Future of Solar Power

One of the political commercials I have been noticing lately is from Hillary Clinton telling America how she is going to create 500,000 new jobs by expanding clean energy through solar and after last evenings debates I feel compelled to add my two cents. I applaud this, but I also disagree with it at the same time. (Just to clarify this is not an endorsement for any one candidate just my thoughts on what I think should happen.)

On the point of increasing US based solar production I am behind that all the way. In order to create the infrastructure needed to switch from our current energy consumption methods to this renewable method we will need a large production base in order to build and maintain it. This should create a large chunk of the 500,000 jobs predicted and also stabilize/maintain several thousand other jobs as well.

Although Candidate Clinton doesn’t come right out and say it, I think the goal is to create several solar farms (based on the images shown) in order to harness the energy. I do agree that we do need an increase in the amount of solar farms in general so that we have more of the country switched to renewable energy sources, I don’t think that should be the end game answer.

Creating the solar farms in my mind is like setting up another commodity that could be bought and sold by corporations. I want less corporate anything getting their hands on this. I want to see solar panels on houses all across the US. Truth be told if we can leap frog our technology enough we can literally just paint photovoltaic cells onto our homes and power them that way.

Homes owners will have to choose between having a power bank in their home to store energy or if they are just going to use what is needed throughout the day and essentially sell the excess to power companies. I would do both when possible.

I believe it would also help drive job creation beyond the 500,000 mark. It would create a demand for service technicians to install the panels and help maintain the associated equipment. It would range from the small mom and pop couple of employee operations right on up to a national service provider. There would be a litany of other jobs needed in order to churn out these technicians as well. The possibilities are endless.

 

Leave a Reply

