It’s Beginning to Look Like Christmas???

If you work retail like I do you have probably already seen some merch or heard the higher ups mention something about Christmas already. I know….nuts right? It’s 90 or 100 something degrees out and were already looking towards Christmas. Let me put it into perspective for you.

It was July 1 and I was watching from Pharmacy land the back to school stuff be put out already. A lot of students were barely 2 weeks into summer vacation and they already are getting that reminder that they’ll soon have to return. I’m starting to digress here, but it helps to illustrate my point.

At this point in the year the back to school section has been consolidated to half its original footprint and some of it even clearanced out already. Some of the top racks of the shelves have been added back on and the first round of our Halloween candy has arrived. With that candy normally some sort of Christmas stuff arrives. Now that’s not to say we are going to be putting it anytime soon, but it’s in the store none the less. It was explained to me that its part of the strategic stocking plan.

Bullshit! I’m sure in some small capacity it is, but as far as I’m concerned that stuff can sit in the warehouse until the week before November 1st. I’m not trying to be scrooge, but I’m not going to be in the Christmas spirit until after Halloween I don’t need a constant reminder that it’s almost time until then.

Leave a Reply

