The End of An Era???

So this is the first Christmas since I was born that I didn’t receive a Hess truck. If you people don’t know what I’m talking about google that shit. Yes, since 1986 I have received a Hess truck as a Christmas gift and your damn straight I played with it every year too. Don’t care if I’m knocking on the door of 30.

It kind of is my own fault. Hess petrol had sold of their remaining gas stations so you would no longer be able to even take a quick hours drive and purchase one anymore. I told my family members not to worry about it that I would watch online and purchase one myself when they became available. And watch I did.

At first it was going to be an online purchase only. Then they also did kiosks in a handful of malls. (The closet one was about a 3 hour drive. BULLSHIT ON THAT!) So I figured I’d wait until they day after they became available online. Do the smart thing and give it a day because I knew their servers would crash from all the orders. Well it was a spectacular crash because those things stayed down for up to a week.

To add insult to injury once the servers came back online to prevent it from happening again they put everyone in a virtual line and you would be emailed when you were eligible to order yours. At that point in the game I decided to tap out because I figured it would only end in disappointment and I could always just order one after the new year. I would be wrong.

Hess has decided to not put a second post season batch into production. I will inevitably have to be price gouged by someone to continue my collection. (Haven’t decided on weather or not I will yet, but most likely nostalgia will take ahold of me at some point or another.) I honestly had not expected to pay ridiculous prices for Hess truck until I decided to start working backwards from where my family started me off all those years ago.

Otherwise I had a relaxing and enjoyable Christmas celebration over the last couple of days and look forward to another well deserved day off tomorrow. Hope everyone had or will have an enjoyable holiday season.

 

Leave a Reply

