Working With Glue

I’m currently working on a couple of BLOG’s, but they are going to take a little bit of time because I think people will get some decent information out of them. As a result I’m taking my time on pen and paper. (I’ve already gone through half of a legal pad on just one.) I’m not expecting them to be long diatribes, but getting the thoughts in a logical order and cutting out some of the BS is going to take me a bit. Patience is a virtue.

With that being said I won’t leave everyone hanging for a long time without some words of wisdom. Gather round kids it’s story time again. This happened many moons ago while repairing a vase I broke.

If you haven’t guessed it already I was working with glue. I was using the industrial strength stuff my dad uses on the job sites to repair tools with. This shit is awesome. There are parts of the old dump trucks we have repaired over the years that are still holding together with it.

Back to repairing the vase. At some point in the repair process I must have dribbled a bit on the workspace. I placed my hand on said spill spot and was promptly glued to my 30 x 4 work bench which is also bolted to the wall. Now I’m not panicking yet, but a few obscenities were used. Knowing how powerful the glue is and it quick drying effect we of course purchased the solvent for it. However, I did not bring any inside.

At this point I’m still calm, but a little anxiety starts creeping in. I yell for someone to come help, but receive no response and then remember that the last member of family had left for the day about 20 minutes ago and no one was due back until late that evening. (Approximately 8 hours later) Waiting it out wasn’t an option and now I have to pee.

I am now looking around for my cell phone thinking ill just call a neighborhood and deal with a little embarrassment. Nope, I can see the phone, but it is well out of reach. Now I’m beginning to sweat. I start running through my options. I could just go ahead and rip my hand off but the resulting removal of god knows how much skin, blood, clean up, emergency room trip, plastic surgeon, etc…. I vetoed that  just on the financial amount alone.

I am now looking around at the various tools that I have nearby thinking I could gently pry my hand up. Luck would have it that a spackle spatula was near by however that turned out to be a fruitless endeavor. As I was just slowly tearing my skin off. So I surveyed the tools again and my eyes landed on the jigsaw. Yes boys and girls, I ended up cutting my hand out of the work bench.

After releasing myself from the stuck position I would spend the next few hours releasing myself from the plank of wood with the solvent followed, by replacing the actual work top space. Moral of the story is to always be careful when using glue.

Leave a Reply

