Work Footwear

When I buy a pair of sneakers for working in the pharmacy I tend to drop a few extra sheckles on them for both comfort and performance. I will be in them a minimum of 7 hours a shift. I also resign myself to the fact that they will most likely start falling apart within 8 months. I’m going to be honest with you. If you work foot wear doesn’t do the same thing you, you either have a cushy job or your not working hard enough.

However I’m not going to replace my footwear on a yearly basis. Just from a budgetary stand point its not feasible. At the minimum I require two years of service from my work kicks before I can even think of retiring them and relegating them to house knock arounds or yard work status.

Since starting college I have learned to repair my footwear as needed. Sometimes it’s a simple glue job while other times it requires some stitching. Luckily, this time it was just a glue job in most spots to get some of the loose pieces back together. Once that was accomplished I noticed an increase in support as well so I most likely strengthened them in some fashion.

The sneakers started breaking down a while ago, but the prognosis at this point is that I’ve probably got at least another 6 months of consistent use on them providing no major failures.

Leave a Reply

