My Dad

My dad is sometimes a pain in the ass, but he is still my dad and I love him. Our relationship is no where in the ballpark of those you see on sitcom’s and I wouldn’t have it any other way. To be honest it could probably be better, but we both work on it now and again. As I progress further into my own adulthood we do a better job of being father and son.

As I watch the world around me progress and I move forward with my own life I realize how good of a job my father has done and continues to do of raising both me and my sister. Although I don’t have my own kids yet, but I watch and hear other fathers, I realize that my dad did do a lot. More than most probably. It’s when these other dads fail to measure up to even the minimum that my mind becomes boggled.

When it does become my turn to be dad I have already resigned myself to the fact that I’m probably going to screw up. There’s no amount of classes, books, or lectures that can help prepare a parent. Learn on the fly and take what you know worked from your parents and figure out to improve on what didn’t. At the end of the day it’s about minimizing the negative and reinforcing the positive.

Alright I’ll just stop here before I give myself a case of the “feels”.

Leave a Reply

