New Words

So apparently the Oxford Dictionary has decided to add some new words to their official list. While reviewing it a majority of the words don’t make sense. Maybe one or two I can get on board with, but the majority is a joke. A few did make me giggle, but the vast majority make me question the professionals who decide the addition of new words.

I understand that as a language evolves new words and concepts will arise over time, but I think that the evolve part is being forgotten. Some of the words the exist now in the English language are as a result of laziness or just plain ignorance. I may jokingly use some of the “new words”, but never  in a serious context.

Maybe its just me getting old or my inner educator breaking through, but something has to give.

Leave a Reply

