Want v. Need: Vehicles

I find that people more and more now have no clue what the difference between a want and a need are. Just to clarify a want is something you desire, but don’t have to have. A need is something that is necessary and you can’t do without.

For this specific want vs. need discussion I am talking about vehicles. Let’s start with the fact that not everyone needs a vehicle. If you live a city or metro area where there is an excellent infrastructure in place with multiple forms of public transportation one does have to ask themselves if they really do need to own a vehicle of some kind.

The area in which I live in does have a daily bus service, but the schedule is haphazard at best and does not have 24 hour service. Thus it makes a vehicle a need and not a want which brings me too my next point. If you live in an area where a vehicle is a necessary part of life take care of the damn thing.

I see vehicles on the road on a daily and wonder how they pass inspection. What confuses me even more is peoples inability to properly prioritize what should be fixed/working on their vehicle. I’m not going to sit here and run through every single thing, but ill try and water it down a bit. Engine, breaks, tires, and exhaust should be top priority. Body/frame would be next in the line up. Everything beyond that to, me anyway, is just icing on the cake.

Let me put it this way. If your sound system or low profile tires and spinner rims cost more than the value of your vehicle you priorities are messed up.

Leave a Reply

