The Gay’s are Ok

Boy Scouts of America has finally lifted the ban on gay adult leaders…well kind of. I’ll circle back to the “kind of” part in a minute you’ll just have to bare with me for now. I am glad that national got it together and has extended the opportunity to all adults to be part of scouting regardless of sexual orientation. There are a handful of former scouts whom I hope to see become active leaders again now that the ban has been lifted. Far too long have they been gone from what they once loved and enjoyed.

All I can say is that I am sorry that the powers that be shunned you, but please come back. I know there is much that the youth can learn from you. You may be the difference that helps a boy make it on his trail to Eagle. Alright, lets circle back to the “kind of”.

After rereading the comments from BSA’s President, Robert M. Gates, I have concluded that this move to stop the ban was not done for the right reasons, but to avoid what would probably turn into a costly and lengthy legal battle. Wanting to avoid that legal mess makes sense to me, but the decision to lift the ban should have been done in a better light. None the less, the right decision has been made albeit for probably the wrong reasons.

The national council has also left a sizeable loophole. If a scout unit’s charter organization or committee finds that allowing gay leaders to be a part of the troop to be a violation of their own religious rules they can still enforce the ban. If you look at the percentage of scout troops whose charter organization is normally a place of worship you would see that a large percentage could still potentially enforce the ban. I honestly don’t foresee many actually doing so, but the potential is there.

From my religious studies I was taught that we should always love and care for one another. At no point in time was there ever mention of there being an exception that you don’t have to because said person bats for the other team. To further my point here, I believe that in order for scouters to truly follow the tenants set forth in the scout law we need to be accepting of all people from all walks of life otherwise we are failing miserably to uphold the spirit of scouting.

If you disagree with nationals decision that is your right. However, you can either tow the line and get with the program or get out. I know that runs counter to a lot of what I just said but we either work together to make scouting better each day or part ways. I also accept that fact that it may be me who is shown the door as well.

Leave a Reply

