Minimum Wage Increase

So one of my friends sent me a news article with a title that without reading the article will elicit a very inflammatory response. In my case it did, but I put my initial response in check until I was able to sit, read, and digest the article in whole.

Basically, what has happened is that New York states governor has taken the advice of his three member panel of fast-food restaurant workers and agreed to pass legislation to make specifically the minimum wage of fast food workers be raised to $15.00. Before I tear down this decision lets be clear that minimum wage needs to be increased end of story.

The article goes on to compare that the entry level fast-food worker will be on the same starting scale as a paramedic. I can’t wrap my head around that at all even of the fact of how many other skilled jobs whose starting salary is on pace with that or lower. I don’t know any other way to say this, but no, in fact, Hell no.

I have worked in a fast food restaurant. Most of the work is unskilled or minimal skill labor. Granted I was only a teenager at the time, but I still recall a lot of what I did and it didn’t require a lot of training or knowledge. Do you work hard? Yes, but nothing to the effect that would warrant such a increase in wages.

I am acutely aware that it may be the only job that some people have or are capable of holding, but that does not sway my opinion. There are tons of job training programs out there a lot of which is free or at a reduced cost. Take advantage of said programs and better yourself. For the people who aren’t capable of more than a fast-food job or similarly low skill job that’s fine. First I’m glad they are being contributing members of society, but there are other programs and agencies out there to help said people support themselves. Really didn’t know how to word that last part without sounding like a total asshole, but eh.

Here’s the compromise I’m willing to make. If you are going to raise the minimum wage of one set of workers you must raise it for everyone. What’s good for the goose is good for the gander. I also demand that the wage scales of other jobs be raised appropriately as well.

http://libertyunyielding.com/2015/07/21/fast-food-workers-in-ny-will-soon-be-earning-the-same-as-paramedics/

Leave a Reply

