The Cost of Doing Business

With every business there are expenses one incurs. In most instances expenses go up over time occasionally they do go down but on the rare side i would tend to think. This evening I ran head long into an increased expense on a business that was passed directly on to the consumer.

Upon returning to a restaurant that I had been to previously I noticed a sign that stated ” 3% will be charged on every dollar for all credit transactions.” I was then enlightened that this was becoming a common business practice because credit companies were charging more on credit transactions. I get that this cost needs to be set off somehow, but a blatant charge on top of all the other costs and taxes I am already going to pay I don’t find acceptable.

Please don’t tell me that I must pay a fee in order to patronize your business. I literally felt like I was being punished for choosing to use a card to pay. Do what everyone else does. Slightly increase the cost of your goods or if you a large enough bottom line absorb the cost of it.

Leave a Reply

