Updated Menu’s

Once again a national chain with a restaurant in my immediate area has updated their menu. They normally do this right at the beginning of summer and I can appreciate them studying trends and trying to stay current with consumers wants and desires. However, even with this updated menu they always continue to drop the ball.

Every year a few weeks after the new menu starts I decide to give said restaurant another go. Every year I leave the restaurant disappoint in more than one aspect..

There was a point in time where I was a regular due to the trivia they held once a week. I noticed that most servers would not last for more than a month or two. This does impact  a restaurants ability to provide a consistent experience. This revolving door of employees continues today.

With the updated menu there are always lots of excellent food choices which should be of great quantity and quality. On more than one occasion the quantity was zero because they ran out. If something is a brand new item and/or it sells more than other choices carry some extra. I know there is a limit even to that, but when it’s only 5:30 on a Saturday night your inability to order appropriately is not my problem.

Quality is a whole other issue. I have had no problems whatsoever and had a good quality meal, but the last time that has happened at the restaurant in question I can’t remember. The food is either under or over cooked, prepared not as requested, or my favorite not the correct order at all.

I know this sounds like a lot of bitching here, but let me point out a few things. If you work in or operate a service based industry much like myself your ability to provide that service and a good quality product is what the business will live and die by. It is also important to note that there are several competitors in the area that can provide a better quality service and product and sometimes for less money.

Leave a Reply

