I Forgot my Kid in the Car

While watching the evening news one of the stories was about a father leaving his 1 year old in his SUV and then catching the train to work not realizing his mistake until he arrived at work only to rush back on the next train. He did have the good sense to call 911 and get the police and EMS on scene immeditaly. He stated that he has a very¬†repetitive morning routine and was on “autopilot”.

http://boston.cbslocal.com/2015/05/13/father-on-train-calls-911-after-forgetting-baby-in-car/

Good on him for admitting his mistake and taking quick and timely steps to advert would could have quickly become a much worse news story, but I’m not giving this guy a pass. If he was truly on “autopilot” as he states then his youngest would have been dropped off at daycare as normal despite the fact that his child was being quiet and sleeping.

Now, I don’t have children so most people will say to me “you don’t understand or you don’t get it”. Bullshit. I have plenty of examples around me that dictate otherwise. I cannot name one time that my parents, grandparents, or aunts and uncles have forgotten us or their own children somewhere. I also have plenty of friends and coworkers who have never done this with their kids either.

At the end of the news segment they showed different methods and technology to help parents avoid this. Again, bullshit on all of it. Act like the responsible adult you are supposed to be. I do agree that people forget things once in a while, but a child who cannot fend for themselves is not on the ok list.

Leave a Reply

