Peanut….Peanut butter and………Let’s stick with the Peanut Butter

I enjoy peanut butter very much.  If peanut butter was a person I’d probably have an affair with it because that’s how much I enjoy peanut butter. Peanut butter goes awesomely with many foods. I think everyone is familiar with Resse’s Peanut Butter Cups, best combination to date of chocolate and peanut butter. The classic PB&J sandwich as well as marshmallow fluff and peanut butter for those who want an extra sweet treat. I would even go so far as to say as it might even make a good hotdog topping.

Peanut butter is even an excellent snack all by itself. Just take a large spoon and scoop a big ol’ dollop of it out of the jar and enjoy. Although I prefer smooth peanut butter myself I do not discriminate against those who would choose chunky. To each their own as they say.

Some would argue that peanut butter isn’t all that healthy of a snack. To you people I say “feh”. Yes in America SOME sugar is added to peanut butter, but it is not a devastating amount. Just enough to improve the taste. If you have ever tasted European peanut butter you know what I am talking about. Peanut butter is packed full of protein, carbohydrates, and good fats that your body needs. It also has some of the daily vitamins and minerals that everyone should have.

To those of you with a peanut allergy I am sorry. You’re missing out on a good time. Since I started on the topic of peanut allergies everyone take a seat for a minute while I pontificate from atop my soapbox.

From what I understand most peanut allergies can be avoided if mothers consume peanut products while pregnant. I’m sure there is some study somewhere that says to avoid peanut products while pregnant, but based on the limited nutritional information I just provided and the fact that my mother consumed peanut products while pregnant with me and I turned out just fine (Depending on who you ask.) I can safely call bullshit.

To the schools that have banned peanut products, who the hell are you kidding? No one has peanut allergies that bad. If they truly did they would need to live in a self-contained environment. Most foods at groceries run the risk of being contaminated by peanut dust because everything comes through the same loading docks. I know some schools have created the “no peanut” lunch table to accommodate students with peanut allergies and I applaud this, but at the same time feel bad for the student who has to sit there. Rare is the elementary school friend who has the maturity level great enough to sacrifice not ever having anything to do with peanut products so they can sit with a friend.

Leave a Reply

