Holiday Decorations

While taking my daily constitutional (walk) I noticed that a few people still had Christmas decorations still adorning their houses. I’ve also noticed in the past people leave Halloween decorations up a little too long, but whatever. I understand that some people will leave Christmas decorations up until almost the end of January to celebrate “Russian” or Orthodox Christmas. This is all fine and dandy, but there is a limit.

We are past St. Patrick’s and heading towards spring solstice. All decorations should be removed no later than 2 weeks after celebrating the final day of the holiday. That’s 14 days there and it includes 2 separate weekends to work on it. After that point your house just looks ridiculous because everyone else got with the program.

Please don’t tell me it’s because the weather is bad. Dress yourself weather appropriate and get on it. I also don’t give exception to the elderly either.

My grandfather put  up and then took down his own decorations. And when he couldn’t do it all himself anymore he scheduled time with myself, my sister, my mother, my uncle, or one of my cousins. If a family member isn’t an option find a trustworthy neighborhood youth and offer up 20 bucks and some lunch for a few hours worth of work.

Leave a Reply

