Finish Him!

If you know where the title comes from then congrats you got the reference and you are most likely a fan of the Mortal Kombat games. However, that is not the point of my post. Let’s take a quick TV time out for a little info about me.

Since I was 13 years old I have worked on a variety of construction projects alongside my father. Along with learning how to put up the main structure and a variety of other things, he also taught me a lot about the precise finishing work. The fine details about how to cut and butt the trim together so it look more like one piece. How to counter sink the nails, putty over them, and stain correctly so no nail points could not be detected. How to properly sand and paint to achieve the best finish on any surface.

By paying attention to the small details while working on various projects it normally leads to a better overall finished product. For me this has translated into paying attention to the small details when doing other various tasks that I do. Sometimes what I am trying to accomplish doesn’t allow for working out small details, but when it does and time allows for the small details to be given special attention it normally turns out to be a job well done that could be stamped superior.

Leave a Reply

