The Scout Law: Trustworthy

A Scout is…and you can probably choose a  multitude of descriptive words to define what a scout is. For my purposes I am going to take each of the 12 points of the scout law and dive into each a little bit. Every scout is expected to be able to take each part of the law and describe what it means to them.

According to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary trustworthy is defined as, able to be relied on to do or provide what is needed or right : deserving of trust. To simplify that, being able to take someone at their word.

I consider trust one of the most important things a person can have and earn. I am also going to guess that the founders were of the same mind being that Trustworthy was the first of the scout laws.

Trust is a corner stone of any relationship whether it be personnel or professional. Once it is lost it is almost impossible to get it back. I have some words of wisdom that I share with people every so often especially if I am going to be working with them for the first time. “Respect is earned. That will come with time. However, trust I will give you a little bit to start with. It’s kind of like rope I’ll give you just enough slack to hang yourself with.”To translate I will willingly give trust, but only enough to where the only person hurt if its broken is the person who I gave it to.

Some people might say that I have some trust issues. I might be inclined to agree, but ever since I have enacted that policy my personal and professional relationships tend to be stronger.

Leave a Reply

