Shaving

In addition to a hot shower I also find a fresh shave very rejuvenating as well. I don’t get into it like some people do with the old school shave kits, but I do own a lather cup and a straight razor. One of those bad boys you see the barber stroking up and down the leather strap after sharpening to remove any burrs. It is one of the closet and best shaves I can give myself as long as I have the time to dedicate to it. Otherwise, I use one of the five blade razors. Although you truly only need one to get the job done I do find that it provides the next best shave.

Although you only need your face to be a little moist the best time to shave is directly after bathing. This way your skin is most pliable from the extra water and heat. Most of the dirt and grim has been removed as well. In addition to removing facial hair shaving also helps get rid of facial dirt and removes a lot of the dead skin on the face as well. I remember reading something many moons ago this is one of the reasons why men tend to look younger when were older.

You may be asking, “What about shaving cream/gel?” Just pick whatever doesn’t irritate your skin. Also, don’t spend an arm and a leg on any one brand either. Most contain similar ingredients. I do caution against anything scented on the chance it will irritate your skin.

Finally, electric shavers. I have tried them in the past and they just aren’t my cup of tea. If it happens to be your weapon of choice then shave on my friend. As long as it gets the job done that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

