Facebook Friends

At the moment I have 177 friends on Facebook (FB). 180 is the number I can never seem to break and I am perfectly fine with that. People add me as they interact with and inevitably we will connect on social media. However, as time goes and we stop interacting in the real world or cyber space I will purge people from friend/contact lists. I honestly just don’t like to have a litany of people to go through.  For the people who have anywhere north of 300 friends/contacts I call bullshit.

There is no way you possibly interact with all of those people on a monthly basis especially when we are talking about 1,000+ individuals. In that case I hope your profile is a fan page. After many months of coaxing I finally got my fiancée to start clearing out some of her friends on FB. She was pretty close to 1,000, but I figured out a few things.

1. People will either deactivate their account or just become inactive so over time the webmasters will begin shutting them down so essentially you are friends with non-entities.

2. How many of them are actually someone you know and not just robo accounts?

3. Finally when is the last time you interacted with some of these people. My personal belief is that if I haven’t interacted with you in the last 6 months even if it was you just commenting on something I posted to break my balls I have no reason to maintain contact with you. Especially if your news feed is nothing but drama and unwarranted bitching.

Now she does have  a small side business so having more than 300 contacts is understandable, but 1 & 2 are holding true.

What I am trying to say here is think about purging your friends/contacts list. Clean out non-active profiles, get rid of the robots so your personal info is less vulnerable, and start thinking about if you really need to continue being in touch with some of the people. You’ll have less BS to sort through and you’ll see more things from people you actually want to interact with.

Leave a Reply

