Discontinued Items

Whenever the front end staff of the chain pharmacy that I work for finds that an item has been discontinued the item storage spot is removed and normally quickly replaced with something else. We are mostly informed by our corporate purchasing team when said items are going away, but occasionally one sneaks through the cracks and we don’t learn about it till a customer/patient comes to us for help looking for it and we discover the item is no longer available. With that being said I have 2 recent instances where there was zero effort put into removing that item from inventory list that is made viewable to the consumer.

The first instance is where I ordered a replacement part for one of my airsoft rifles. I knew I was taking a risk by ordering from a lesser known site, but when the price can’t be beat how can one argue. I received an order confirmation, payment was taken from my account, and a notice that I would receive shipping info once the item went out. Three days later I received a cancelation notice from the company and my money was refunded the next day. Upon sending an inquiry as to what happened I was informed the item was no longer available. I further asked why it wasn’t labeled as such online even at the moment only to learn that their online inventory was only updated once a month. I let it go at the point, but one has to wonder how often that  happens. It would also like to point out that this is how a lot of internet start ups run into trouble.

My second story happened at a local non-chain restaurant. Two weeks in a row they did not stock a beer I wanted to try. Through an acquaintance I learned that once they run out of specialty beers they don’t restock. Fine by me, but what would it be to take a black sharpie marker and cross it off of what 30 specialty menu’s?

Here’s my bottom line. Both of the scenarios could have been avoided if probably just one person did their job more effectively. I’m really angry just more disappointed than anything and hate having my time wasted.

“If I screwed up at my job this much I probably would have been shit canned a long time ago.” I find myself thinking that a lot lately and have come close to saying a time or two as well. Am I asking too much here people?

Leave a Reply

