Messages

While making out going reminder calls to patients this evening I had the privilege of someone telling me they had a message for me before I left a message for them. I immediately tuned it out until I heard the beep indicating that it was my time to speak. Ladies and gents cut this shit out. The message to me was a wasted 30 seconds of which I could have been doing something way more productive rather than listening and trying to stage my next fill. I will also bet a large sum of money that most of the people this individual knows either avoids calling them or hangs up when the recording starts. Most answering machines have made it crazy easy, by A parroting the number you dialed so you know you called the right one and B all you have to record is your name. That’s it, nothing more, nothing less. Just to be clear the only exception to this rule is if you were in the Jimmy Fallon studio audience and you were selected to have the days musical guest do your outgoing message.

Since we are on the subject of the out going messages I’m also enacting an age rule. Minimum age will be 10. Nobody wants to hear your 4 year old yammer on about how everybody and the dog isn’t home and to leave a message. Half the time it isn’t audible anyway and the novelty wears off quickly.

As the saying goes time is money people. Ill also remind every one of the acronym K.I.S.S…..Keep It Simple Stupid

Leave a Reply

